Remembering Challenger

My dad took me to see the Challenger arrive for the first time, piggyback on a 747, in July 1982 at Kennedy Space Center. I watched from outside my high school when it launched on January 28, 1986. I was at lunch, hanging out in the band room, and we all stepped outside to watch the launch. Funny how something that happened 28 years ago can seem so clear to me. I feel blessed to have lived in Merritt Island during the beginning of the shuttle program; seeing it from my house, FEELING it from my house, going to KSC to watch the launches. My dad even got press passes for us once, and we saw it launch from the closest a spectator could get. I am sad that my kids don’t get that excitement. RIP to the crew of STS 51-L.

http://www.nasa.gov/centers/kennedy/shuttleoperations/orbiters/challenger-info.html

Challenger

Leave a comment

Filed under Ramblings

Leave a Reply

